FISCAL YEAR 2019

FINANCES & LEADERSHIP Waterlitte

En alt



FRED HUTCH **CURES START HERE®**

FINANCIAL SUMMARY

FRED HUTCHINSON CANCER RESEARCH CENTER FISCAL YEAR 2019 (AUDITED)





OPERATING REVENUES FISCAL YEAR 2019

Research Grants and Contracts	\$465,852,230	(65%)
Other Income	\$149,853,715	(21%)
Contributions	\$54,354,208	(8%)
Investment Income	\$43,894,658	(6%)
TOTAL	\$713,954,811	

OPERATING EXPENSES FISCAL YEAR 2019

Program Services – Research	\$548,873,658	(84%)
Management and General	\$82,288,115	(13%)
Fundraising	\$17,741,457	[3%]
TOTAL	\$648,903,230	



SOURCES OF PRIVATE CONTRIBUTIONS FISCAL YEAR 2019

Major Gifts	29%
Corporate and Foundation Relations	27%
Planned Giving	16%
Annual Giving	9%
Gifts of \$10,000 - \$49,999	7%
Events	7%
Obliteride	4%

Rounded to the nearest \$1,000. Percentages may not total 100% due to rounding.

BOARDS

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Mr. Matthew McIlwain, Chair Ms. Kathy Surace-Smith, Vice Chair Mr. Norman Metcalfe, Treasurer Mr. Richard Anderson, Secretary The Honorable Chris Gregoire, Immediate Past Chair

Mr. Carl Behnke Mr. Sean Boyle Mr. Mike Clayville Ms. Holly Dillon Mr. Mark Fleischauer Ms. Theresa Gillespie Mr. Stephen Graham Dr. Robert Herbold Dr. Allan Jones Mr. Philip Kent Ms. Leigh Morgan Mr. Satya Nadella Mr. Peter Neupert Mr. Paul Reed Mr. Brian Roberts Dr. Corsee Sanders Mr. Bryan White Ms. Paula Revnolds. Trustee Emeritus Mr. James Sinegal, Trustee Emeritus

LEADERSHIP

Gary Gilliland, M.D., Ph.D. President and Director

Fred Appelbaum, M.D. Executive Vice President and Deputy Director

Sue Biggins, Ph.D. Senior Vice President Director, Basic Sciences Division

Bruce Clurman, M.D., Ph.D. Executive Vice President and Deputy Director

Garnet Anderson, Ph.D. Senior Vice President Director, Public Health Sciences Division

Nancy E. Davidson, M.D. Senior Vice President Director, Clinical Research Division

Eric Holland, M.D., Ph.D. Senior Vice President Director, Human Biology Division

Julie McElrath, M.D., Ph.D. Senior Vice President Director, Vaccine and Infectious Disease Division

BOARD OF AMBASSADORS

Karmann Lange Kaplan, Co-Chair Rich Kaplan, Co-Chair

Bonita Armstrong Jon A. Barwick Carl Behnke, Past Co-Chair Shari Burns Gary Bylund Eleni Carras Barbara Cosgrove Andrea Gordon Doug Gordon Patrick Gordon Jeff Guillot Julie Guillot Katy Kinney Harris Catherine Humbert John Hutchinson Scott Hutchinson Stuart Hutchinson Harvey Kanter Art K. Langlie Yvonne Lamey Amy Lavin Nancy Pellegrino Dean Petterson Charlee Reed Alee Spencer Barbara Thrasher

Steve Stadum, J.D. Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer

Elizabeth Boyd, Ph.D. Vice President Research Administration

Lynann Bradbury Vice President Communications & Marketing

David Browdy Vice President and Chief Financial Officer

Jennifer Griffith Vice President Government and Community Relations

Steven Haydon, J.D., LL.M. Vice President General Counsel Bonnie Towne, Past Co-Chair Mary Wiese Frank Yandrasits

Lynne Kornblatt, R.N., J.D., LL.M., Vice President and Chief Human Resources Officer

Kelly O'Brien Vice President Philanthropy

Niki Robinson, Ph.D. Vice President Business Development & Strategy

Scott Rusch Vice President Facilities and Operations

Matthew Trunnell Vice President Chief Data Officer

Kathy Alexion, MBA Vice President Chief Information Officer

Marion Dorer, Ph.D., MBA Vice President Interdisciplinary Science Administration

PAST PRESIDENTS & DIRECTORS

Lawrence Corey, M.D., 2011-2014 Lee Hartwell, Ph.D., 1997-2010 Robert Day, M.D., Ph.D., 1981-1997 William Hutchinson, M.D., 1972-1981



fredhutch.org

1100 FAIRVIEW AVE. N., SEATTLE, WA 98109 / 206.667.4399 / 1.800.279.1618

